Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

The Turku Philharmonic Orchestra (Finnish: Turun Filharmoninen Orkesteri) is a Finnish orchestra based in Turku, Finland. The oldest orchestra in Finland, the Turku Philharmonic is resident at the Turku Concert Hall, the first purpose-built concert hall in Finland, completed in 1952.The orchestra was founded in 1790 under the name Turun Soitannollinen Seur (Musical Society of Turku). In 1927, the municipality of Turku took ownership of the ensemble, with Tauno Hannikainen as the orchestra's first chief conductor under municipal management.Since January 2012, the orchestra's principal conductor is Leif Segerstam. Juha Kangas is the orchestra's principal guest conductor, since 2001. The orchestra's current composers in residence are Mikko Heiniƶ and Anders Hillborg.The orchestra has recorded commercially for such labels as Ondine, Finlandia, and Naxos.